top of page
  • Writer's pictureJo

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone


So I read Harry Potter for the first time. Yes, you heard that right. I'm a 20 year old who loves Harry Potter but I have never read it. I WATCHED THE MOVIES OKAY, IT WAS ENOUGH FOR ME AT THE TIME. In all honesty, I tried. I just couldn't get past the first chapter. As a kid Junie B. Jones and Judy Moody were my thing, Harry Potter was boring. Years after I can say why. I wasn't very big on reading as a kid and needed instant engagement. The novel starts off with a very long exposition and a play-by-play of Mr. Dursley's day something I wouldn't have liked as a kid. But now, although I still found it a bit long I liked learning about Harry's life before Hogwarts and I feel he may have spent more time outside of school in this book than I thought based on the movies. I found the book to be quite funny (The West Ham details were really nice). I loved Ron and Harry's relationship. Hermione was quite annoying at first but became bearable as I'm sure was intended. I felt the quest for the stone was a bit short and rushed. I would've like more suspense and more detailed descriptions. Hagrid was amazing and so sweet but so clueless, poor thing. I really wanted to throttle Draco lol what a little brat. Harry was beyond sweet. Overall, I enjoyed the book in a way that was different from how I liked the movie and I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page