top of page
  • Writer's pictureJo

Ace Of Shades Review


5/5 STARS

Ace Of Shades is a well-written treat. Disregarding the rich and well-developed world Ace Of Shades takes place in, the characters are lovable and real. Enne is a feminine bad*ss, something that isn't seen as often as it should be. Foody creates a character that takes charge, is fierce, and girly. She's a tour de force and a character many young girls will look up to. I loved watching her mature (or be corrupted, I like to think of it as a fine combination of both) as she became more and more caught up in The City of Sin. I really only want the best for her, and to let her know that lipstick does wonders for her. All the cookies in the world for Enne Salta 2018 'till forever. Levi, our other main character, is a favourite of mine. He's what I like to call a 'fallen king', someone who's been at the top and has slipped from his throne. His struggle is amazing and you sympathise with him. I want to scoop him up an protect him from the world. Also, I want to throttle him for some of his decisions. A big bonus is he's also bisexual/black representation which was especially important to me. Then we have Jac and Lola which are the perfect example of the lovable golden retriever and cat dichotomy. Except if the dog is a lost and worn stray and the cat is as lovable as it is dangerous. Jac is Levi's best friend and i love their dynamic. In my head I picture them as pillars that have fallen in a way that one is holding the other up in a triangle shape.

The magical system created is interesting, people have talents that are passed down and their last names are indicators of their 'blood talent'. It's a bit frustrating to not know people's blood talents based on just their name like the characters can though (it's always explained soon after but only after I'm like: "WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?"). The gangs and families though are interesting. They add to the ambiance and believability of the story. The distinction between the two families I really like as one is more new money, and cigarette smoke while the other is old money and cigar smoke.

The gangs are really well thought out and each one is unique, I really can't wait to see more of them and how they work. As an Iron I have a little bit of info on our inner workings. Spades tattoos are dealers, clubs are runners, diamonds are brawlers, and hearts are performers!

Also, for some reason I love the transit system. it's SO weird but I imagine it looking like the Toronto trains used to look.

Foody doesn't need me to say that she can write a world you fall into and characters you fall in love with (the book speaks for itself) but it does need to be said. Her writing is imaginative and potent. I look forward to the rest of the series.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page